

Tuesday, 18 May 2021

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on **WEDNESDAY**, **26 MAY 2021**, at **6.00 P.M.** at the **THE POINT**, **LANCASHIRE COUNTY CRICKET CLUB**, **TALBOT ROAD**, **STRETFORD**, **M16 0PX**, for the transaction of the business set out below:

**Pages** 

## 1. Mayor and Chair of Council

To note that the term of office for the Mayor was extended at the Annual Meeting held on 25 November 2020 and that Councillor Laurence Walsh has been elected to serve as the Mayor and Chair of Council for the 2021/22 Municipal Year and that Mrs. Rachel Walsh was appointed as his Mayoress.

## 2. Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of Council

To note that the term of office for the Deputy Mayor was extended at the Annual Meeting held on 25 November 2020 and that Councillor Chris Boyes has been elected to serve as the Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of Council for the 2021/22 Municipal Year and that Mrs. Pamela Boyes was appointed as his Deputy Mayoress.

#### 3. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 24 March 2021 for signature by the Mayor as Chair of the Council.

1 - 20

#### 4. Results of Elections of Councillors

To receive a report of the Returning Officer on the results of the Poll held on 6 May 2021 for the respective wards of the Borough.

21 - 22

## 5. Leader of the Council and Membership of the Executive

To note the Leader of the Council's continuing term of office and note that the Leader will appoint the membership of the Cabinet and a Deputy Leader.

23 - 26

### 6. Shadow Executive

To note the membership of the Shadow Executive.

To Follow

### 7. Council Committees

To receive a report on the Committees of the Council, their composition, membership and terms of reference for the 2021/22 Municipal Year.

To Follow

## 8. Appointments to Outside and Independent Bodies

To receive a report on Council appointments to outside and independent bodies for the 2021/22 Municipal Year.

To Follow

## 9. Timetable of Council and Committee Meetings

To confirm the timetable of Council and Committee meetings for the 2021/22 Municipal Year and note that, with the return to a normal meeting programme, the previous arrangements in relation to the extension of the six month rule will no longer apply.

27 - 30

# 10. Delegated Decisions and Urgent Action for Committees

To approve the following arrangements for dealing with delegated decisions and urgent action:

## (a) Delegated Decisions

That where, under the approved scheme of delegation, decisions may be taken by Officers in consultation with non-Executive Members then in the absence of any specific arrangements having been made, the Officer shall consult the appropriate Chair, Vice-Chair and Opposition Spokesperson.

### (b) Urgent Action

That, in situations which require emergency action the Chief Executive or the appropriate Officer, in consultation with the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee concerned and the Opposition Spokesperson where appropriate (or their respective nominees), be authorised to deal from this date until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2022, with any matters of urgency or any other matter that cannot conveniently be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee, subject to later report for information, to the Committee in question.

# 11. Delegation of Functions and Amendments to the Constitution

To receive the following reports of the Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy and Monitoring Officer:

(a)	<ul><li>Delegation</li></ul>	of F	unctions
-----	------------------------------	------	----------

31 - 32

### (b) Constitutional Review: Employment Procedures

33 - 40

# 12. Report on Special Urgency Decisions

To consider a report of the Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy.

41 - 42

Yours sincerely,



### **SARA TODD**

Chief Executive

## Membership of the Council

Councillors L. Walsh (Mayor), C. Boyes (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead, A. Akinola, J.M. Axford, Dr. K. Barclay, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn, J. E. Brophy, B. Brotherton, D. Bunting, D. Butt, T. Carey, Dr. S. Carr, G. Carter, K.G. Carter, D.N. Chalkin, R. Chilton, G. Coggins, M. Cordingley, L. Dagnall, J. Dillon, N. Evans, M. Freeman, S.J. Gilbert, J. Harding, B. Hartley, W. Hassan, S. J. Haughey, J. Holden, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, D. Jerrome, J. Lamb, J. Lloyd, S. Longden, S. Maitland, M. Minnis, M. Mirza, A. Mitchell, D. Morgan, P. Myers, A. New, J.D. Newgrosh, D.C. O'Sullivan, E. Patel, K. Procter, T. Ross, J. Slater, S. Taylor, S. Thomas, R. Thompson, M.J. Welton, A. Western, D. Western, M.P. Whetton, G. Whitham, A.M. Whyte, A.J. Williams, B.G. Winstanley, J.A. Wright and Mrs. P. Young.

## **Further Information**

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

Ian Cockill, Governance Officer

Tel: 0161 912 1387

Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday**, **18 May 2021** by the Governance Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH.